Skip to content ↓

Duke of Edinburgh Award

The Duke of Edinburgh (DofE) programme is a real adventure. It doesn't matter who you are or where you're from, you just need to be aged between 14 and 24. You can do programmes at three levels which lead to a Duke of Edinburgh's Award:

  • Bronze (aged 14+)
  • Silver (aged 15+)
  • Gold (aged 16+)

The school is a licensed centre and uses school staff and external agencies to implement training courses and expeditions.

To achieve an award particpants must completing a personal programme of activities in four sections:

  • Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community
  • Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities
  • Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests
  • Expedition: planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad
  • At Gold level, you must also complete an additional Residential section, which involves working and staying away from home doing a shared activity

The official DofE website is a valuable source of information and provides lots of advice and suggestions for activities for each of the required sections.  Click here for the DofE website

The school will typically manage upto 150 Bronze awards each year, Silver and Gold numbers usually reduce to around 80 or 70 awards for each year group. 

The DofE Team is made up of

Mr G Bosworth Programme Manager
Mrs J McIver Programme Administrator


You can contact them via the DofE office email address: